## WBDI General Meeting Thursday, December 19th, 2024, 11:00-12:00 PM CST Adler Room A & B, Hyatt Regency McCormick Minutes

*Members Present:* Carrie Backman, Emilie Bertram, Lindsey Bogatz, Amy Bovin, Gail Brechting, Tamiko Bridges, Catharine Bushman, Tara Cappelletti, Meijun Chen, Mary Cogswell, Holly DeCaigny, Susan Eckerle, Jennifer Evans, Emma Germann, Jennifer Gordon, Jennifer Grice, Megan Gryspeerdt, Ashley Hawk, Lauren Helmer, Ellie Henson, Crystal Hoisager, Tiffany Holman, Theresa Hoover, Rebecca Kilgore, Pam Klena, Jill Koerwitz, Jerianne Larson, Andrea Mack, Dana Mandell, Alondra Bahls-Mariles, Kim Mieder, Meara Mitchell, Lesley Moffat, Shemeka Nash, Jenny Neff, Carol Nendza, Lucy Pascasio, Ruth Petersen, Catherine Rand, Wendy Reeves, Marilyn Renner, M.J. Robinson, Christina Rusnak, Angela Schroeder, Shannon Shaker, Alex Shapiro, Mary Grace Shearon, Fran Shelton, Natalie Smith, Donna Smith, Courtney Snyder, Shayna Stahl, Michelle Styles, Catrina Tangchittsumran, Linda Thompson, Kadijah Tinker, Jennifer Weddington, Braeden Weyhrich, Hope Williams, Krystal Williams, Donna Wirth, Kimberly Wise, Breanna Wozniczka, Audrey Yosai, Lisa Zemlock

## Members Present via Zoom:

- 1. Call to Order-Pam Klena called the meeting to order at 11:05 AM
- 2. Approval of Minutes-Andrea Mack moved to approve the minutes from summer 2024, it was seconded by Lisa Zemlock and the membership voted yay.
- 3. Welcome & Introductions-Pam Klena Invited the Past Presidents, Executive Board, and Corporate Sponsors-DeMoulin and GIA Publications Incorporated to introduce themselves and be recognized.
- 4. Recognition of Corporate Sponsors-Pam Klena recognized additional Corporate Members that were present at the meeting, thanked them, and encouraged the membership to visit their booths
- 5. WBDI Scholarship Awards-Shannon Shaker introduced the 5 scholarship winners. Information about the winners can be found in the committee report.
- 6. WBDI Membership Awards
  - a. An Honorary Membership Award was presented to George Moffit.
  - b. The Al G. Wright Award was presented to Jay Gephart.
  - c. A *Certificate of Appreciation* was presented to Shannon Shaker for her work hosting the Summer Conference.
  - d. A *Certificate of Appreciation* was awarded to Shayna Stahl and Virginia Allen for their work with the Commission Competition.
  - e. The WBDI Legacy Award was presented to Fran Shelton.
- 7. Board of Directors Reports-Pam Klena encouraged the membership to review the Board of Director Reports using the QR Code on the agenda.
- 8. 2024 WBDI Highlights-

- a. MJ Robinson reported that we have had a significant increase in Corporate Sponsors (140%).
- b. MJ Robinson reviewed the Summer Conference attendance data from the last three years and reviewed highlights from the most recent conference
- c. We have reached our goal of 500 members!
- d. MJ Robinson and Pam Klena are working with the University of Maryland to organize and house the WBDI archives.
- e. MJ Robinson reports that she has worked to support and organize committees so that they can be successful.
- 9. 2025 WBDI Initiatives
  - a. Shemeka Nash reported that the DEI Committee has created and awarded a new microgrant to assist with the costs of attending The Midwest Clinic and the WBDI Luncheon
  - b. Julia Baumanis, the co-chair of the mentorship committee reports that there are 2 new mentorship initiatives. There is a QR code at the booth to help connect mentors and mentees. There will also be a new Ask-A-Mentor column in The Woman Conductor
  - c. Theresa Hoover reports that there is an upcoming PD session about effective rehearsal strategies taking place on January 14th via Zoom. More information will be emailed out shortly.
  - d. Shayna Stahl reports that there were 54 submissions for the Commission Competition. Heather Hastings has been selected as the winner of this competition. Susan Eckerle, Director of Bands at Thomas S. Wootten High School will lead the premiere the piece in November 2025. There are two available spots in the consortium and more info can be found on the website.
  - e. Leah McGray invited the membership to join her at the Summer Conference at Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. She reminded the membership to renew their passports.
  - f. Pam Klena reports that the 2026 Summer Conference will be in Omaha Nebraska
- 10. Discussion & Feedback
  - a. Pam Klena let the membership know that a link will be sent this afternoon that will allow the membership to provide discussion ideas and feedback
  - b. Pam Klena directed the membership to the QR code on the agenda as it links to a comprehensive program with important information and links
- 11. Call to Adjourn-Pam Klena moved to adjourn the meeting at 11:43 AM and it was seconded by Andrea Mack.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Tara Cappelletti